Where has the time gone?

The other day I was doing the nostalgia thing … looking at old photos of the boy-child. I guess I knew it, but until confronted with the evidence I’d forgotten just how long skateboards have been part of his life.

I’ve lost count of how many times people have asked me how I cope with his hobby.

Am I not afraid he’ll hurt himself?

Yes, but I’m more afraid of trampling on his dreams, closing down his passions, stifling him and making him afraid – of pain and worse – of failure.  I don’t ever want to see my son hurt, but I also don’t want him to grow up being afraid to challenge himself.

I know what that is like and if I could have my childhood again, I’d take broken skin and fractured bones  any day.

And, on the plus side, my son has discovered that his niche in the skating world is largely as the film-maker, documenting the crazy antics of his friends.

Here’s a teaser from his latest project; a “feature” length film called Illusion.

15 thoughts on “Where has the time gone?

  1. He looks to be a very talented film maker… I know how you feel about not wanting to trample his dreams… it’s hard though isn’t it? My 15 year old loves break dancing and I have to hold my breath sometimes with the moves he practices! Not to mention he’s already broken his elbow, big toe and index finger… and that was just playing football at school!

    Like

      • Thank you. It’s difficult to look at his work without the “proud mother” lens, but he’s studying photography and design and school and doing well, so we feel that our praise is not just pride-based. And thanks for liking the photos – I used to be his filmer – back in the days when he was more interested in actually doing the skating.

        Like

      • I hadn’t seen that before no, it’s great, really liked it! I watched the trailer for the movie ‘Boy’ aswel, it looks like a really funny film, must watch that one… have you seen it?

        Like

      • Glad you liked them. Boy is a really good movie – one of the best to come out of NZ in a while. I’ve seen it a few times – even got the DVD as a present. Poi e is one of those classic slices of national culture that everyone can sing or hum a bit of. It was recorded by the Maori Club in a town that was facing mass redundancies from the closure of the town’s main employer (an abattoir). The song married traditional Maori song and dance forms with contemporary Western music. The “Thriller” addition in Boy was an acknowledgement of how important Michael Jackson was as a musical role model to many young Maori.

        Like

      • Thanks; I’ve just taken on a voluntary role managing the marketing of a sculpture exhibition, so that’s heartening. 🙂

        Like

  2. Reblogged this on Shaking the tree and commented:

    Sometimes I can’t decide where a post belongs; probably because I don’t know what I’m going to write about until I begin writing. And as this is my family history chronicle, the boy-child’s skating obsession with skating definitely belongs. Oh, and when he’s a famous film-maker (my pension fund), you can say you saw his work here first.

    Like

  3. Heavens, so much to digest there. Talented (and cute) son. Bet you’re glad he’s behind the camera now. have Kiwi boys not heard of protection? 🙂
    Poi e – words fail me….Kiwi nostalgia at its best. Made about the time I left Nz’s shores. Perhaps it was the sideboards (facial hair wise) or the shorts and long socks that drove me out.
    At one time i could do a pretty mean poi dance though.

    Like

    • Thanks! I am very glad he’s behind the camera. He does seem to have quite good co-ordination, but I prefer it when that’s not being tested too hard. I actually saw a guy with the classic 70’s uniform of walk shorts and long socks recently. Admittedly, I was in Panmure! He didn’t have the facial hair though (he didn’t have much hair at all to be honest). I have always been useless with poi – I think the fact that one of my flew out of my hand and hit the teacher in Primer Three was the main reason she hated me for the rest of my primary school years. I do love Poi e though, and find myself doing (very tame) dance moves to it – mainly arm waving – which is probably very alarming for the boy next door who can see into my kitchen from his living room.

      Like

Leave a Reply

