Vibrant: “full of energy, colour and life”*

I’ve always been drawn to the bold, the colourful, the energetic; in short, the vibrant. Food, people, colours, clothing, art (but not music strangely); I like to really see, taste, feel.

The boy-child has been encouraged to enjoy good food his whole life – and in recent years to cook it. His efforts are always healthy, tasty, fantastic-looking and, I have to say, beautifully plated. Everything about them shouts “vibrant”.

Eating the meals he prepares is a joyous experience.

Tofu, broccoli and cashew nut stir-fry.

Tofu, broccoli and cashew nut stir-fry.

Tuna steak, cherry tomato and egg salad.

Tuna steak, cherry tomato and egg salad.

Thanks to Sue at A Word in Your Ear for the word a week challenge.

* And thanks to Your Dictionary for a nice definition of vibrant that fits the post I wanted to write.

8 thoughts on “Vibrant: “full of energy, colour and life”*

    • Thank you. They were great, and of course, it is always lovely to have someone else cook (even though that means I have to clean up).

      Like

      • That’s true but I think I’d rather clean up and have someone cook for me once in a while… it’s nice to sit back and have it all done for you (without paying restaurant prices!) My 14 year old loves cooking too and often experiments when he makes himself a snack… it’s great to see… my 17 year old, on the other hand, looks like he’s going to survive on bacon and egg sandwiches when he flies from the nest! πŸ˜€

        Like

      • Yes, cleaning up is a small price to pay – especially as he’s not a particularly messy cook. I loved the pictures you posted of your mother’s day breakfast – it looked fab. My brothers are both great cooks; my partner is too, but he isn’t particularly confident (his mother makes boiling eggs seem like the D-Day landings), so I’m determined my boy-child will be able to look after himself post-nest.

        Like

      • All three of mine are so different… my daughter is now 23 and cooks wonderfully and as I said, my youngest loves to cook but the 17 year old just wants ‘food’ doesn’t really care what it is, as long as it fills him up! You can only do your best!!! I’m sure he’ll develop his culinary skills as he gets older (I hope!) maybe once he goes to uni… that’s when my daughter came into her own and ‘grew up’ I think uni is a wonderful experience just for that ‘growing in confidence’ if nothing else… the degree helps of course! πŸ™‚

        Like

  1. I’m sure he will be fine; and as you say, uni is a great chance for our kids to grow into their skins. One of my brothers discovered cooking as a way of attracting girls. He used to phone me for recipe ideas (I’m eight years older than him) and then create these amazing meals – much better than anything I’d have done – just based on whatever idea I gave him. When I think back, he obviously has very good food instincts to be able to do that, because if I did the same thing to my partner he’d just look blankly at me and ask for a recipe book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

