Travel theme: sculpture

tony weathermen2

The Weathermen, by Ramon Robertson. Photo taken at the Kaipara Coast Sculpture Gardens by Tony Gray 2013.

I can pinpoint the precise moment I totally fell in love with sculpture as an art form. It was in1993 and I was watching Off the Wall, a BBC TV programme about a group of residents from the Byker Estate in Newcastle curating an art exhibition on the estate, with works borrowed from British art institutions.

There was a scene in which an enormous bronze mask by Igor Mitoraj was being driven across the Tyne Bridge on the back of a truck. The sheer absurdity of the image so impressed me, I had to go and see the sculpture (Tsuki No Hikari II), at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park.

Since then I’ve visited as many sculpture exhibitions and installations as I could. Last year I volunteered at NZ Sculpture onShore, New Zealand’s pre-eminent biennial sculpture exhibition and a major fund-raiser for Women’s Refuge in New Zealand.

It was at Sculpture onShore that I first saw Ramon Robertson’s The Weathermen. Clever, whimisical and quite haunting, they are currently on show at the Kaipara Coast Sculpture Gardens. In a strange way they remind me of Tsuki No Hikari II, and are a fitting way to illustrate this post. I’m grateful to my wonderfully talented partner for these photographs – they are so much better than the ones I took!

tony weathermen3

The Weathermen, by Ramon Robertson. Photo taken at the Kaipara Coast Sculpture Gardens by Tony Gray 2013.

tony weathermen7

The Weathermen, by Ramon Robertson. Photo taken at the Kaipara Coast Sculpture Gardens by Tony Gray 2013.

tony weathermen1

The Weathermen, by Ramon Robertson. Photo taken at the Kaipara Coast Sculpture Gardens by Tony Gray 2013.

tony weathermen6

The Weathermen, by Ramon Robertson. Photo taken at the Kaipara Coast Sculpture Gardens by Tony Gray 2013.

The Weathermen, by Ramon Robertson. Photo by Tony Gray 2013.

The Weathermen, by Ramon Robertson. Photo taken at the Kaipara Coast Sculpture Gardens by Tony Gray 2013.

 

Thanks to Ailsa at Where’s My Backpack for her travel theme: sculpture.

5 thoughts on “Travel theme: sculpture

    • Thank you. I’m going to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park in September on my way up to Scotland. Am very much looking forward to seeing Andy Goldsworthy’s work there.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Black and white | Zimmerbitch: age is just a (biggish) number

Leave a Reply

