The boy-child's wishes book - or at least bits of it! Photo: Su Leslie 2014

The boy-child’s wishes book – or at least bits of it! Photo: Su Leslie 2014

It’s a good thing I work well under pressure. The boy-child’s birthday is tomorrow and I’m still working on the wishes book. Have wine, chocolate,  a sharp craft knife …

Photo: Su Leslie 2014

Photo: Su Leslie 2014

… and music.

I’ve finished counting down to my son’s sixteenth birthday. Tomorrow he can leave school, leave home, learn to drive, have sex, get a tattoo or live with a partner.

However, it’s more likely that he’ll forget to set his alarm, get up late but still take an extremely long shower, forget his lunch, need a ride to the bus stop and send me a text wishing me a good day. Because, it may be his birthday, but he’s still my boy.

Down to the wire

2 thoughts on “Down to the wire

Leave a Reply

