intj-head

Introverted, Intuitive, Thinking and Judging: this is apparently my Myers-Briggs personality type, although I’m about 50:50 on Thinking. Thank you CPP for the cool graphic.

Having spent years feeling guilty, inadequate, and generally crap that I:

a) don’t particularly enjoy a lot of social occasions and want to leave early or not go at all,

b) find an awful lot of people loud, vacuous  and annoying, and

c) adore my own company …

… it is something of a relief to find that I’m not misanthropic – just an introvert.

To judge by all the feature articles in various media lately (Do Introverts Make Better LeadersIntrovert or Extrovert: What Style is More Likely to Get You a Big Promotion At Work?, Why the World Needs Introverts, 6 Dos and Don’ts for Dating an Introvert) introversion has arrived, it’s cool … it’s the new black.

We introverts should celebrate the fact that we now so popular … quietly, singly, and in the privacy of our own homes.

INTJ stress-head. Thanks to CPP for this cool graphic too.

INTJ stress-head. Thanks to CPP for this cool graphic too.

Yes to all of the above … a reminder why I like being self-employed and working from home.

Thank you to Chris at 61 Musings for getting me thinking about introversion and introducing me to these graphics – especially my stress-head.

 

 

 

Now that introverted is the new black …

11 thoughts on “Now that introverted is the new black …

  1. There seem to be a lot of INTJs over here on WordPress. We introverts are very misunderstood people. I think that we need an Introvert Awareness Day to make people aware that we are being snobby or antisocial when we say that we don’t want to hang out with the rest of the herd 🙂

    Like

  2. I get it and feel the same…..one of the reasons for my blog name “mishunderstood”. I think introversion is so often mistaken for shyness. Sometimes I just don’t see the benefits of interaction in a large group….is that so weird? There are so many meaningful moments spent in more intimate settings and I love my time alone. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I’m sure you’re right; people seem very confused that I am confident but still not comfortable around people a lot of the time. I’m introverted and a bit deaf – a terrible combination in social settings 🙂

      Like

  3. I loved this post. I have often been misjudged as a snob. Nope, just don’t like small talk, social gatherings and the like. I like people just fine. One at a time or in small groups that are gathered for a common interest. Dinner parties are only about family for me. Double dates? Blah! Alone time is my haven. I am also grateful there is so much talk about introverts lately. Privately in my head I am saying to all the bubbly extroverts – ‘See, I’m not a snob, I’m just a super cool introverted person.’

    Like

    • I’m sure that’s right Meghan. We can have all the connectedness we want – with people who (by definition) share some of our interests and we have it on our own terms, without noise, fuss and small talk. Perfect!

      Like

Leave a Reply

