Auckland’s seemingly endless blue skies have clouded over and can now accurately be described as leaden. I have too many commitments, too little time, a persistent headache and I’d love to escape to a world with colour (NB: for the purposes of this post, grey is not a colour).

That is not to be (not yet anyway). So while my body still resides in the relentless gloaming, my mind has taken to wandering. And given that travel is only in my imagination, I thought I should stylize my images to reflect the disconnect between my original experience of them, and the idealised place they occupy for me right now.

My last road trip included a detour to this famous Ratana Church in Raetihi. While I'm incredibly proud of the original photos I took, including one on my phone, today I remember the image like a painting I want to hang on my office wall. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot on iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

My last road trip included a detour to this famous Ratana Church in Raetihi. While I’m incredibly proud of the original photos I took, including one on my phone, today I remember the image like a painting I want to hang on my office wall and look at often. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot on iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Summer; late afternoon. A walk on the beach with the Big T. Whangarei Heads. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Summer; late afternoon. A walk on the beach with the Big T. Whangarei Heads. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Last year I spent three weeks in the UK; my first big solo trip since before the boy-child’s birth. Every day was an adventure and I revelled in the sense of freedom — of having no-one to please but myself. Two nights at a lovely B&B in Lower Largo wasn’t really long enough, but did afford me with some wonderful photographic memories.

Sunrise, Lower Largo, Fife, Scotland. Photo: Su Leslie, 2013. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Sunrise, Lower Largo, Fife, Scotland. Photo: Su Leslie, 2013. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Twilight, Lower Largo, Fife, Scotland. Photo: Su Leslie, 2013. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Twilight, Lower Largo, Fife, Scotland. Photo: Su Leslie, 2013. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

The Sage Centre, Gateshead. Photo taken from Millenium Bridge at dusk. Su Leslie: 2013. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

The Sage Centre, Gateshead. Photo taken from Millenium Bridge at dusk. Su Leslie: 2013. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Sunshine, sculpture, beautiful gardens and a stately home thrown in. Heaven is in Yorkshire. The Yorkshire Sculpture Park to be precise. Photo: Su Leslie, 2013. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express

Sunshine, sculpture, beautiful gardens and a stately home thrown in. Heaven is in Yorkshire. The Yorkshire Sculpture Park to be precise. Photo: Su Leslie, 2013. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express

It’s appropriate that my last image – of a final shaft of evening sun – should be illuminating the hill above Oriental Bay in Wellington. Appropriate because a trip to Wellington in the next few weeks is my beacon of hope for a change of scene and a chance to relax.

Last rays: the sun setting over Oriental Bay, Wellington, NZ. Photo: Su Leslie, 2012. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Last rays: the sun setting over Oriental Bay, Wellington, NZ. Photo: Su Leslie, 2012. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Travel-based shots (even if it’s only travel in my mind) is my response to this week’s phoneography and non SLR digital devices photo challenge at Lens and Pens by Sally.

Here are some other blogger responses that I enjoyed:

http://pictograf.wordpress.com/2014/06/23/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-objects/

http://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2014/06/23/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-challengers-choice-architecture/

http://neomanu.wordpress.com/2014/06/23/phoneography-monday-my-choice-food/

http://angelinem.wordpress.com/2014/06/23/phoneography-challenge-san-francisco-street-demonstrations/#respond

http://completelydisappear.wordpress.com/2014/06/23/path/

http://streetsofsfphotos.wordpress.com/2014/06/23/stairs-3-photos/

http://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2014/06/23/phoneography-black-and-white-animals-and-plants/

http://uniquesochic.com/2014/06/23/jazzy-portrait-painting/

http://decocraftsdigicrafts.wordpress.com/2014/06/23/phoneography-and-sunday-stills-urban-landscape/

http://walktheselftalk.com/2014/06/23/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-objects-2/

http://nwframeofmind.com/2014/06/23/iphoneography-monday-6-23-14/

http://helpalongthepath.com/2014/06/23/iridescent-bush-phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge/

http://shareandconnect.wordpress.com/2014/06/24/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-travel/

http://19planets.wordpress.com/2014/06/24/selfie-night-014-june-2014-haiga-and-haibun-for-phoneography-monday-portraiture-choice/

 

Dreaming away the midwinter blues

35 thoughts on “Dreaming away the midwinter blues

  1. aloha Su Leslie. you’ve made traveling in your imagination a fun journey for those who also travel with your imagination. way cool. and banishment on midwinter blues.

    Pixlr Express is an App? I may have to try it. fun. aloha.

    Like

  2. I like each one better than the previous and vice versus. Really enjoyed the effects of the app. You’ve created your own dream world. I do hope that you find that “beacon of hope” in your travels. Happy Photo Challenge.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Travel to San Francisco | Lens and Pens by Sally

  4. Wonderful photos and editing! I had forgotten about Pixler Express that I have on my phone. Now I’ll definitely have to practice on that. Thanks for the inspiration. Hope you have fun in Wellington!
    And thanks for the pingback too.

    Like

    • Thanks Angeline. I only recently discovered Pixlr and now use it for most editing. With the overlays and stylising tools I’ve discovered I can create really cool “fabric” designs from photos. Sooooo much fun.

      Like

  5. WOW! It is amazing how you can release the inner artist with the editing. I just love what you have done with these. I find that playing around with my photos means that I enter the TARDIS and can forget the world around me for a few hours. Hope things improve for you. πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Thanks so much Raewyn. I think I feel the same; watching images transform and become open to new interpretations is quite liberating and relaxing. Am so looking forward to getting away to Welly for a few days. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Hi Margaret. Thank you so much. And I hope you enjoy Pixlr. I find it’s really good for rendering images quite abstract. I’ve been using it to create fabric designs.
      Cheers, Su.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Phoneography Monday – processing | Margaret Miller's Blog

    • Thank you; I love editing apps. Most are very easy to use, but should come with a warning that they are addictive and swallow hours of your life if you let them. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • LOL, I believe it!! Seems like every digital thing is a black hole for one’s free time… sigh. Do you ever get “brownouts” (i.e., massive power outages) like we do, occasionally, in NYC? It’s like a snow day from one’s devices! Be well πŸ™‚

        Like

      • We have had several power outages in the last few months, caused by storms. They are the first we’ve had in about 10 years, and had us both sitting in our cars, using the car batteries to keep our phones and ipads charged so that we could work. πŸ™‚ I love the term “snow day” — not something we get here, but I do remember having one or two in the UK.

        Like

Leave a Reply

