To old to be playing with my food (yeah, right)

 

Still life with chutney. Photo (and chutney): Su Leslie, 32014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Still life with chutney. Photo (and chutney): Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Art is full of repeating themes and recurring imagery. Still life as a genre focuses in on the ordinary, the commonplace, the detail. Most of the most famous Western artists have painted still lives, and the genre continues today in not only painting but in collage and assemblage works, and in photography.

One of the joys of photo editing is the ability to re-make the same image over and over. While painters and sculptors labour over a single representation, and traditional photography allows image manipulation only with considerable effort, free editing apps can transform snapshots from a smart phone into a vintage photo, pencil sketch, oil painting, watercolour, and all manner of stylized images.

still life3

Still life with chutney. Photo (and chutney): Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

I’m particularly fond of AutoDesk’s Pixlr Express as an editing tool. I particularly like the overlays which I use to give texture and odd spots of colour to images.

still life8

Still life with chutney. Photo (and chutney): Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

By repeatedly smoothing out a stylized version of my photo, then overlaying it with a scraped texture and changing the color balance, the final effect reminds me a bit of the wonderful illustrations in Eric Carle’s books for children – in particular The Very Hungry Caterpillar – which was an early favourite of the boy-child’s.

still life5

Still life with chutney. Photo (and chutney): Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to Lab and Pixlr Express.

I’ve recently discovered another new app I quite like: Pho.to Lab – although the advertising in the free version will probably drive me away and I’m not sure there is enough in the paid app to interest me.Β  I used Pho.to Lab to create an initial oil painting effect on the image above, then played around with it some more in Pixlr Express. I quite like the result, but would prefer a little less “photo realism” in the image.

still life4

Still life with chutney. Photo (and chutney): Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to Lab.

This “pen and ink drawing” effect is from Pho.to Lab, and is probably the image I think is most successfully edited with this tool.

Still life with chutney. Photo (and chutney): Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Still life with chutney. Photo (and chutney): Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to Lab.

The image above is also from Pho.to Lab, and while I like it, I think it’s a bit gimmicky for the kind of editing I’m interested in doing. The same is probably true of the image below – which I’ve cropped to remove some of the – I think naff – detail Pho.to Lab includes.

Still life with chutney. Photo (and chutney): Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to Lab.

Still life with chutney. Photo (and chutney): Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to Lab.

Sally’s challengeΒ  this week at Lens and Pens by Sally, is editing and processing – something I just love doing.

Here are some other bloggers’ responses to the theme:

http://pictograf.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-editing-and-processing/

http://irenewaters19.com/2014/06/30/phoneography-challenge-identical/

http://amaltaas.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-editing-and-processing-with-apps/

http://completelydisappear.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/know-it-all/

http://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-editing-and-processing-with-various-apps-using-themes-from-the-fourth-week-still-life/

http://decocraftsdigicrafts.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/phoneography-challenge-editing-with-apps/

http://nwframeofmind.com/2014/06/30/iphoneography-monday-6-30-14/

http://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/phoneorgaphy-the-challenging-chalk-art-photography/

http://angelinem.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/phoneography-challenge-editing-dragon-fruit/

http://helpalongthepath.com/2014/06/30/bridge-phoneography-and-non-slr-devices-photo-challenge/

http://austindetails.me/2014/06/30/iphoneography-contrast/

http://walktheselftalk.com/2014/07/01/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices/

 

22 thoughts on “To old to be playing with my food (yeah, right)

  1. This gem is one of my favorites that you’ve created. I was engaged from the beginning and didn’t want it to end. Had not heard about Pho.to Lab, and must give it a try. All the images work really well. Happy Photo Challenge.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Editing and Processing with Apps (PhotoStudio) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  3. Fabulous edits, all of them! I’m just turning on to Pixlr Express and have lots of practice to do. I still haven’t been able to make mine look so good as what you’ve done here. And now I have to try Pho.to Lab.
    Thanks for the pingback!

    Like

    • Thank you Angeline. Pho.to Lab is fun but most of it’s functionality (certainly in the free app) is in inserting images into stock backgrounds/borders. I’m not sure I’ll do much with it (but, never say never …) πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. I am so glad you take the time to share what you are doing, it’s wonderful. Of all the effects the two that stand out for me are the first one, which has a very classic still life feel to it, and also the Pen and Ink drawing, for just the opposite reason. It is so different from the original it almost could be a lino cut print.

    Like

    • Hi Margaret: thanks for your lovely comments. I also love the pen and ink. You’re right; it does look like a woodcut. I kept thinking it reminded me of Aubrey Beardsley prints.Cheers, Su.

      Like

Leave a Reply

