Plastic mesh bag. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4.

Plastic mesh bag. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4.

Life seems quite stressful at the moment. The Big T is out of the country for two weeks, workplace politics are spoiling my enjoyment of a project I’ve hitherto loved, and I have some ongoing, low-level pain that’s quietly driving me crazy. So I’m trying to focus on the good stuff; friends, my darling son, my home – and most of all living in a country where I can go about daily life without fear of snipers, rocket fire, suicide bombers or air strikes.

Today I bought mandarins; small, sweet, juicy and very fresh. They were packaged – not in the usual polythene bags – but in plastic mesh, which reminded me of the string bags my mum used to carry fruit and veg home in.

I had all but thrown the bags away when I noticed the lovely sculptural quality of the pliant mesh. I’m happy enough with the photos I took; but happier still with the edits.

I like the way the layers of mesh form different patterns in the shot below, and I think darkening it accentuates the contrast between the fine plastic thread and the background.

Image-1-3

Scrunched plastic mesh. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone 4, edited with Pixlr Express.

I particularly like this black and white shot which abstracts the mesh even further.

Plastic mesh bag. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Plastic mesh bag. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express

Changing the colour palette removes the shot even further from the reality of a fruit bag.

Plastic mesh bag. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone 4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Plastic mesh bag. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone 4, edited with Pixlr Express.

As does the opposite – increased saturation and a paint-like effect.

Image-1

Plastic mesh bag. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

This week it’s challenger’s choice in Sally’s Phoneography and non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge.Β  Pop over and have a look at Sally’s post, and those of other bloggers.

 

Abstracting form from context: an exercise in small joys

13 thoughts on “Abstracting form from context: an exercise in small joys

  1. Pingback: Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Abstraction (and Nature) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. All I can say is Wow! Incredible photos you’ve created with the mesh bag!!! Taking a closer look at everyday things can be a very good thing. Hope things get better all the way around for you soon.

    Like

  3. What a joy it is Su to watch your creativity, playfulness and deep presence flow through the images you capture. The complexity, simplicity, play of light and colors and textures in these images made me smile with delight not only to experience them for myself but to imagine the joy you were feeling when you thought about photographing them. Beauty IS everywhere and can be found in each moment as you so fabulously demonstrate. Many many thanks. ~ Rick

    Like

    • Thank you so much Rick. I am re-learning to see the world and to have fun. It’s a great journey and I so appreciate it when others’ enjoy the results of my “play.” Cheers, Su πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Su, thanks for sharing these photos. I really enjoy seeing the beauty in everyday things and you caught that so well here. As for the rest, I, too, am blessed to live in a country where despite things that go wrong and are wrong, I can live freely and safely. So many places in the world that’s not true and we also have the luxury of being able to complain safely, a true blessing!

    janet

    Like

      • All is more than well with me, Su. We just got back from France a little over a week ago and are getting ready for our annual trip to the mountains of Wyoming–rest, horseback riding, hiking, etc. Love it, love it, love it. Of course, it will be chronicled on my blog, where I’m still doing (mostly) post on the French trip. I’m blessed to be able to do so!

        Like

      • Yes; I’m slightly envious as I have loved every visit I’ve ever made to France. I hope you enjoy your next trip and look forward to reading about it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

