Playing in the art box

Rummaging in the projects box: organza and lace. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Rummaging in the projects box: organza and lace. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

I’m not a hoarder as such, but I do have a tendency to collect “art materials” – in the loosest possible sense of the term. Beads, buttons, fabric, trim, interesting papers, modelling clays paints, inks …. the list goes on.

When the boy-child was little, we actually used most of these bits and pieces to do art projects — often quite large-scale projects involving half the kids in the neighbourhood. But now that my art-loving preschooler has become a photography-loving teenager and I don’t seem to have either time or space to paint and collage,  we’ve arrived at a situation where supply vastly exceeds demand.

Lace scraps. When I had time and space to collage, they provided texture and femininity to the work. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Lace scraps. When I had time and space to collage, they provided texture and femininity to the work. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Of all my art “treasures”, I probably love fabric best. When I was younger and still believed it when people said “you’re no good at art, you can’t draw”, sewing was the main outlet for my creativity and although I haven’t sewn much more than the odd hem in years, I still get excited in fabric shops. I love the kaleidescope of colours, textures, patterns.

Same fabric, different light. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Same fabric, different light. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Play of light on sheer fabric. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Play of light on sheer fabric. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

If I were being rational, I’d probably give away my hoard of art treasures, but I’m pretty sure that’s not going to happen. I may not be using them at the moment, but I can still enjoying playing.

This week at Lens and Pens by Sally, the phoneography and non-SLR digital devices photo challenge is macro photography.

 

12 thoughts on “Playing in the art box

  1. Pingback: Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Macro (Hibiscus and Sunflower) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. Su, you’re so early this week? What’s going on? 🙂 Your photos are marvelous and bring a whole new look to the fabric. My mom sewed and I felt for years as though I should, even though I wasn’t good enough to enjoy it. But I collected fabric, too, mostly the type that would be too difficult for me to sew. Finally one day, I jettisoned that sewing guilt and felt all the better for it. However, I do find fabric and other art things still have a pull over me.

    janet

    Like

    • Hi Janet. I intend to post early EVERY week – but something usually happens to push it further and further back. Most of the fabric I have now is – as you say – too difficult to sew with and gets used (if at all) in collages and art projects. I do have a particularly nice piece of devore in very Klimt-like colours and pattern that I really should make sew into a top one day!!! I think my problem with sewing is that my expectations slightly exceed my ability – not enough to make me abandon the project, just to be disappointed in the results. Have a great week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

