Steel & grease: the new project in our garage

Mechanical things are not my forte. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Bike bits #1. Mechanical things are not my forte. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

I am the daughter of a perfectionist tradesman; practical and unafraid to get stuck in and fix things when they break. But my long tenure as the Big T’s co-habitee has, I confess, made me a bit lazy. Like my dad, T is enormously handy. He has built bits of our house, maintained our cars,ย  and sorted out the kind of plumbing and electrical problems that other people would have paid a professionalย  to do. And I have definitely developed a tendency to ask for his help rather than trying to do maintenance and repair stuff myself.

T spends his days at a computer screen; a mechanical engineer whose work is mainly virtual. But he’s a man who needs a project; a tools out, hands dirty, greasy smell project. Several years ago he restored his old motor bike which had languished in his parents garage while we were in the UK. He doesn’t ride as often as he’d like — but at least now he can.

Bike bits. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Bike bits #2. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

A few months ago he bought another bike to restore. So once again half of the garage is spread with tools and parts. This is totally outside my realm of either knowledge or interest, so I content myself with occasionally taking photos of these machines.

Bike bits #3. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Bike bits #3. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Black and white photography works well for machinery; allowing a focus on shape and texture. I shot these deliberately in quite poor light without my glasses on. I figured I didn’t really understand what I was photographing so I’d just — literally — point and shoot.

Bike bits #4. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Bike bits #4. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

I have friends (and of course a partner) who can look at these photos and not only know what all the parts are, but whether they are original or aftermarket, and can probably tell what size and make the bolts are. I just look at them and think; nice detail, cool contrast.

Bike bits #5. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Bike bits #5. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Sally’s Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Photo challenge this week at Lens and Pens by Sally is black and white. Pop over and have a look.

 

14 thoughts on “Steel & grease: the new project in our garage

  1. Insightful commentary–especially enjoyed these images of the world that human’s invented and innovated. The one that wins my longest attention is 4. I like the otherworldly nature of it as well as its various stories. Happy Photo Challenge.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Photo Challenge: Black and White (Architecture and Reflections) | Lens and Pens by Sally

Leave a Reply

