Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to LabPro

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to LabPro

Let’s be clear; I’m not a hoarder. I regularly and cheerfully have somewhat frenzied clear-outs of my stuff. But I am a gatherer of all things useful; fabric, craft materials, pretty papers, paint and brushes, sewing patterns.

I used to sew a lot. Back in the days when clothes for New Zealanders were made in New Zealand and a small market meant limited choice; when you could almost guarantee someone would be wearing the same frock as you at any event. So Kiwi women tended to be pretty handy with a sewing machine and a pair of pinking shears.

These days I don’t make clothes any more; in fact I don’t do much sewing at all except running repairs on the boy child’s favourite skate clothes and replacing missing buttons — which is why I was rummaging in the sewing box today. Somewhere in amongst the buttons and bindings and scissors and spare bobbins I was sure I’d find some red thread and a fine needle.

And a chance to photograph some of the contents of my due-for-a-clear-out sewing box.

photo 1

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to LabPro

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to LabPro

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to LabPro

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to LabPro

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to LabPro

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to LabPro

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pho.to LabPro

This week’s phoneography and non-SLR digital photo challenge theme is macro. Visit Lens and Pens by Sally to see more and join in.

Looking for a needle …

15 thoughts on “Looking for a needle …

  1. Pingback: Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Photo Challenge: Macro (A Single Oak Leaf) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. Great photos. I still like to make my own clothes – then the clothes can actually fit me. Plus I like to be original and add my own touches. Girls were always taught to sew and now they aren’t which is a pity. 😀

    Like

    • Thanks Raewyn. I still wander around fabric shops and think “oh, that would look good as…” but my last few attempts at dress-making weren’t that great, so I’ve kind of given up. I’m not a standard pattern size and never quite seem to get the adjustments right. I do think it’s a shame that kids aren’t taught to sew, because you’re right, it creates such wonderful opportunities to be original! Hope spring has arrived in Hastings and with it some improvement in your situation. 🙂

      Like

  3. I bloody wish my sewing box was neat. It’s fallen off the shelf so many times that all the contents are in all the wrong sections. It’s a nightmare. I should throw it all out … Like your pic.s: what did you do to ’em, Su ?

    Like

Leave a Reply

