(not exactly) Six Word Saturday: remembering why I’m working this weekend

Kowhai; a New Zealand native (the word means yellow in Maori). Kowhai is also the symbol on the Women's Refuge logo. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014

Kowhai; a New Zealand native (the word means yellow in Maori). My kowhai tree is in full bloom and full of tui (a native honeyeater) feeding. I’m hoping this is a good omen for NZ Sculpture OnShore next month. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014.

Kowhai: symbol of Women’s Refuge NZ

With only a month to go until NZ Scupture OnShore opens, I’m crazy busy. FaceBook posts, email newsletters, invitations, reminders … my head’s exploding with all the stuff I need to do. But when the gates open and people come to enjoy the art and the scenery (and best of all, buy work) it will all be worthwhile. New Zealand artists will sell their work, and both they and Women’s Refuge will benefit.

And in the meantime, I can go outside and watch the tui in the kowhai when it all gets too much.

10 thoughts on “(not exactly) Six Word Saturday: remembering why I’m working this weekend

      • All is fine my friend,but I am totally disappointed with my inbox which I can’t manage anymore.Thousands of emails piled and new ones arrive ; it all started with my long summer holidays.Anyway,many,many thanks for your concern 🙂 ❤️❤️❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • 🙂 I know that feeling. Every day I seem to spend longer and longer clearing the inbox. I’m now living in a state of quiet desperation, waiting for the exhibition to end and normal life to begin again. Take heart xxx

        Like

    • Thanks; I just looked at your blog and I get what you are saying. I also love site-specific art, and our site is a real gift for the artists. It is a historic place; an ex-military site that was once part of our coastal defence. It is on a cliff-top overlooking Auckland’s iconic volcano, Rangitoto Island, and the Hauraki Gulf which is a really beautiful body of water. The event is held in late spring and the quality of the light is amazing. We also get the odd storm which is challenging, but interesting! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

