“How many kinds of sweet flowers grow …?”

Haven't a botanical bone in my body, but I do recognise this as a lily. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

I haven’t a botanical bone in my body, but I do recognise this as a lily. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Like most former British colonies, New Zealand has an abundance of Victorian and Edwardian-style public parks and gardens laid out in formal, symetrical arrangements of lawns, flower beds, gravel walks, and very often a central and very ornate fountain.

Dove Myer-Robinson Park – more commonly known as Parnell Rose Gardens – in the Auckland suburb of Parnell, is a lovely example, containing numerous beds of flowers other than roses, alongside the extensive rose gardens.

rose garden

A perfect day to stroll in the Parnell Rose Gardens. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Many of the rose varieties are cultivated by internationally-known rose breeders, and one could spend an awful lot of time checking out the enormous variety — if one knew what one was looking for.

Climbing roses; Parnell Rose Gardens. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Climbing roses; Parnell Rose Gardens. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

I'm not totally sure, but I think these are sweet peas. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

I’m not totally sure, but I think these are sweet peas. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

A park’s not a park without a fountain.

The fountain is not in the centre of the park, as I think is "normal" in such parks, but tucked away in a quiet, secluded area. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

The fountain is not in the centre of the layout, as I think is “normal” in such parks, but tucked away in a quiet, secluded area. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

This post was written for Sally’s Phoneography and non-SLR Digital Photo Challenge, at Lens and Pens by Sally.

And the title of the post … well for those who have never heard this song, all I can say is that you make me feel old.

20 thoughts on ““How many kinds of sweet flowers grow …?”

  1. This has brought back so many memories for me. I loved the Parnell Rose Garden and I had to sing this song when I was in the choir in primary school and we took part in competitions. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. 😀 They do look like sweet peas BTW

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really like the real one, but I’m knocked out by your JIMMY RODGERS version of the song, Su ! I haven’t heard that lovely voice for more years than I can remember !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember this song, and I love the old parks and gardens here in Australia. How true – not a real park without a fountain. I’m going to put this video on my blog too. Thanks for sharing, Su.

    Like

Leave a Reply

