Black & white photo challenge

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

After so many months of working on a large collaborative project; of moving between multiple tasks and mindsets, I find myself craving simplicity and focus. I want to stop, to look, to see.

I find myself seeking solitude and silence; creating spaces in which to hear my breath and construct the narrative of each moment in a voice that is not in competition with others.

I find myself drawn to, and photographing, a constellation of small things.

I find myself masking backgrounds; removing colour; emphasising contrasts.

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express.

This post was written for Sally’s Phoneography and non-SLR digital photo challenge at Lens and Pens by Sally. You can find out more and join in here.

12 thoughts on “Black & white photo challenge

  1. Pingback: Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Black and White (and Neon Lights) | Lens and Pens by Sally

    • Hi Janet. Thank you. I am planning to relax over the next couple of weeks, and am hopeful that summer will finally arrive. I hope you are well and that you have a wonderful Christmas. Mehi kirihimete / Merry Christmas. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

