Weekly Photo Challenge: playing with pattern

photo 2-1

Take a photograph of some beads .. A few image editing apps later and it might make a good design for fabric or maybe wrapping paper. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPad PhotoBooth, edited with Pixlr Express.

One of the things I love about phoneography is the smooth transition from phone/tablet image to something utterly transformed. I almost never use the Photo Booth app on my iPad (probably because I almost never use the device itself to take photos), but it has a very cool kaleidoscope function which quite nicely transforms images. So yesterday, I found a bunch of old beads – such as one might find in a real kaleidoscope – and photographed them. They looked a bit dull, but with some colour editing in Pixlr Express, I was quite pleased with the results.

Editing the edits; the app Pho.to Lab has a kaleidoscope function too, so I could kaleidoscope the kaleidoscope. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPad Photo Booth, edited with Pixlr Express and Pho.to Lab.

Editing the edits; the app Pho.to Lab has a kaleidoscope function too, so I could kaleidoscope the kaleidoscope. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPad Photo Booth, edited with Pixlr Express and Pho.to Lab.

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPad PhotoBooth, edited with Pixlr Express.

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPad PhotoBooth, edited with Pixlr Express.

photo 4

Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPad PhotoBooth, edited with Pixlr Express and Pho.to Lab.

Reminiscent of Polynesian tapa? Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPad PhotoBooth, edited with Pixlr Express.

Reminiscent of Polynesian tapa? Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPad PhotoBooth, edited with Pixlr Express.

Christmas decorations. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPad PhotoBooth, edited with Pixlr Express.

Thought I might photograph the Christmas decorations too. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014. Shot with iPad PhotoBooth, edited with Pixlr Express.

This post was written for Sally’s phoneography and non-SLR photo challenge at Lens and Pens by Sally. You can see more here.

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: playing with pattern

  1. Pingback: Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Editing and Processing (The Light of Day) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. Stunning photos. They would make great batik fabrics. All the best for the New Year. I am moving in 3 weeks as my ex violated his trespass order so I have to move so he doesn’t know where I am. Idiot. But it is onwards and upwards for me next year. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Raewyn. I’m so sorry you are being forced out of your new home by his actions — and the failure of our legal system to adequately protect women and children. Hope the move goes smoothly and you find peace in your next home. Warmest wishes to you and your kids for 2015.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah, sweet synchronicity! I am just writing a post where I speak of the kaleidoscope effect and all day I have been trying to come up in my mind with the images which my childhood toy produced. And then….I visit your blog and look what I find!
    Wonderful, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

