Phoneography: nature

photo 4-1

Dew on agapanthus flower. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express and Pho.to Lab.

I’ve run out of excuses! My involvement with NZ Sculpture OnShore is now a fading memory, Christmas is past, the weather is glorious and there are absolutely no reasons why I shouldn’t resume morning walks. I should add that a quick glance in the mirror reveals a major reasonΒ  I NEED to get some exercise.

I actually like walking; especially in the early morning. I like the quiet and the solitude. I dislike the traffic noise that’s been increasing daily in the last week and — to be honest — I’m a bit bored with the walks available in my neighbourhood.

Of course, this is part of a wider need to move on, but in the meantime, I’m trying to find new joys in the current situation. Photography is one of those. Yesterday I set out early enough to find dew still clinging to some agapanthus.

photo 11

Dew on agapanthus flower. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express and Pho.to Lab.

Widely planted in New Zealand, agapanthus is now considered an invasive species – a weed in fact. I can understand this, as it is prolific. But on the other hand, it’s a flower I like.

photo

Pohutukawa tree at the water’s edge. Upper Waitemata, Auckland, New Zealand. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express and Pho.to Lab.

A bit further along the way I encountered pohutukawa trees lining the path between the upper harbour and the motorway. Pohutukawa is considered New Zealand’s native “Christmas Tree” for its seasonal scarlet or crimson blossom. This season seems to have provided ideal conditions, and trees everywhere I’ve been seem laden with blossom.

photo 22

Pohutukawa blossom against a clear sky. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express and Pho.to Lab.

And finally a rose; neither native nor invasive, and not particulary prevalent in my neighbourhood. But this one looked perfect.

photo-1

Rose in bloom. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Pixlr Express and Pho.to Lab.

This post was written for Sally’s Phoneography and non-SLR digital devices photo challenge at Lens and Pens by Sally. You can find out more here.

13 thoughts on “Phoneography: nature

  1. Pingback: Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Nature (Gerber Daisy and the New Year) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. Su, love, love, love the editing, especially second, third, and last images. I go out every morning for a walk in a nearby park that’s usually quite deserted, especially in winter, and that gives the feeling of being off in the woods or on the prairie by myself. However this week, the temperatures are hovering near or below zero (Fahrenheit) while the winds are pushing them much, much lower. I’m staying in, needless to say. I’ve walked with it’s near zero with wind chill, but this is too much and dangerous to boot. Can’t wait until I can get out again!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

