Six Word Saturday: out to play with their uncles

James and George Cruden (back row) with David and May Ramsay -- their niece and nephew. Photo: Ramsay family archive.

James and George Cruden (back row) with David and May Ramsay — their niece and nephew. Photo probably taken in Dysart, Scotland. c. early 1930s. From Ramsay family archive.

My maternal grandmother was the oldest of five children. She married young and had her first child at around the same time my great grandmother bore her last. I wonder if my aunt May and Uncle David (front row) referred to their playmates (standing behind) as Uncle Jim and Uncle George?

10 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday: out to play with their uncles

  1. Su this photo is wonderful. I’ve only seen one other picture of my dad at such a young age. Uncle Jim and dad are the images of my brothers Kenny and Alex at that age. Thank you for sharing it, Hope you are well. Lorraine. X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Lorraine; isn’t it a great photo. I was hunting out pictures of my Auntie May for her grandson Mark Ladyka when I found this. Mum sent it to me recently and it’s the only one I’ve ever sen of Uncle George and Uncle Jim when they were young. There are lots of photos of my gran and Uncle Stewart as kids, and I have never seen one of Uncle Sandy. We’re all well; wilting a bit in the humidity here, but otherwise all good. Hope you are well too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

