“… a second spring”

Autumn. Photo: Su Leslie 2015. Shot with iPhone4, framed in PixlrExpress.

Autumn leaves, Auckland NZ. Photo: Su Leslie 2015. Shot with iPhone4, framed in Pixlr Express.

Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower

Albert Camus

Returning some books to the library yesterday, I noticed this plant growing on the corner of a building. Against the dark concrete, the pinks and bright greens stood out, and I couldn’t resist snapping a couple of pictures on my phone. I didn’t have my glasses on, so I really didn’t expect the images to be very good. When I remembered to look at them last night, I was very pleasantly surprised.

Autumn leaves. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015. Shot with iPhone4, framed with Pixlr Express.

Autumn leaves. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015. Shot with iPhone4, framed with Pixlr Express.

photo 3

Autumn leaves. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015. Shot with iPhone4, framed with Pixlr Express.

This post was written for Sally’s Phoneography and non-SLR digital devices photo challenge at Lens and Pens by Sally. You can see more here.

21 thoughts on ““… a second spring”

  1. Su, I love the Camus quote but love going to the library even more. 🙂 The photos of the leaves turned out beautifully. As I often tell Raewyn, it seems both odd and fun that while we’re moving toward summer, you’re moving toward winter. Keeps life interesting.

    janet

    Like

    • Hi Janet; I’m with you on both Camus, and the library!!! We’re having such a mild autumn (with a few curveball storms and cold snaps) that’s it’s difficult to believe we’re heading into winter. I’m still wearing sleeveless tops and throwing the summer-weight duvet off me at night because I’m too warm! I was an autumn baby — born in September in the northern hemisphere — and I sometimes wonder if I’m not just naturally an autumn person. I really don’t much like spring in NZ — wet and cold and seems to go on forever 🙂 Hope all is well with you. Su.

      Like

      • Su, I was born in March, so maybe that’s why I like spring. (Probably not the reason, but it sounds good.) I like having it warm, not hot, during the day, and cooler at night for sleeping well. I like everything coming alive again and seeming even more alive after winter. I really enjoy all the seasons and I’m glad I live somewhere with all of them.

        All is well with me. Still working on all the details of my part time job at the tea shop. Learning about the teas (about 140 or them) is a big part, but there’s so much more as well. It’s keeping my brain going!! 🙂

        Like

      • It does sound good, and although it’s probably nonsense, I attribute my love of autumn to being an autumn baby. Glad work is going well. 🙂

        Like

  2. Camus quote is perfection. It rings truth about a spectacular season. Your images are illustrative of the beauty and majesty that we get here too. Those autumn colors are mesmerizing. As our spring continues to unfold, you are watching a visually-stunning changing landscape too. Happy Photo Challenge. (adored your comment about not having your glasses on, and not knowing what to expect).

    Like

  3. Pingback: Phoneography and the Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Nature (Old-Fashion White Bleeding Hearts) | Lens and Pens by Sally

    • Thanks so much. I’ve been over to your blog; I admire you raising 5 kids! I wonder how I cope with just one sometimes. All the best with your blog; I’m sure I’ll be visiting again. Cheers, Su.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

