Seldom seen in my garden, a tiny ladybird on a lemon tree. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014

Seldom seen in my garden, a tiny ladybird on a lemon tree. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014

Ailsa’s Travel Theme this week is “tiny.” Here are a few shot of little things that have caught my eye.

A small car anyway, these toy BMW Isetta's are truly tiny. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015

A small car anyway, these toy BMW Isetta’s are truly tiny. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015

A tiny, inverted world reflected in a randrop. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014

A tiny, inverted world reflected in a randrop. Photo: Su Leslie, 2014

Seen on a Munich street, a tiny garden on the back of a small truck. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015

Seen on a Munich street, a tiny garden on the back of a small truck. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015

Small insect, small flowers. A tiny part of the food chain. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015

Small insect, small flowers. A tiny part of the food chain. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015

Cicada shell and shadow. Photo, Su Leslie

Cicada moult; tiny anyway, and even smaller against its shadow. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015

Travel theme: tiny

28 thoughts on “Travel theme: tiny

  1. Nice group of photos. I haven’t seen a ladybird in years. Have a nice weekend. I am avoiding any form of rugby tomorrow. No news, no radio – just catch up with MySky to avoid said sport.

    Like

    • I hadn’t either. I haven’t seen once since summer either. I’m avoiding the rugby too (I always do). I think the boys are going out to watch it with friends so I might even get the house to myself.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi M-R. That was the only one I’ve seen for ages. One of my neighbours saw the picture, and said the same. Our ‘hood has gone from being predominantly rural to very suburban and I worry about the fate of our wildlife. We DO though have a pair of Tui which seem to have found a home in our trees. Probably because we haven’t chopped ours down to build townhouses. Grrrr. Oops, slipping into grumpy mode. Hope you’re doing ok. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great pictures! Hard to choose a favourite. Who doesn’t love a ladybird? But have to say I like the angle, perspective and composition of the wee bmws on the map. Makes me think of a road trip and the cicada moult with the huge shadow is really effective.

    Like

    • Thanks Leanne. The blue Isetta travelled Europe with us earlier in the year and was meant to be photographed against touristy backdrops, but it didn’t quite happen. Instead, my boys went to the BMW museum and bought me another car to keep it company 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I do love that little BMW. It has shown up in other blog posts too 🙂

    I read with interest the comments about ladybirds. We call them ladybugs. I wonder why you don’t see many of them anymore. I often see them … but there is something special about a ladybug. It’s just wrong to kill one 😉

    Like

    • Yes; I’m very fond of my little Isetta’s! I wonder why we are seeing so few ladybirds/ladybugs now? A few people have mentioned how rare they seem in NZ. Do you have the Ladybird children’s book imprint in Canada? Those books were a huge part of my childhood.

      Like

Leave a Reply

