Photo: Su Leslie, 2015.

Botanically ignorant. I don’t know what this plant is; just that the flowers looked beautiful with a dusting of melting frost. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015.

New Zealand is having one of the coldest winters on record. Down south, overnight temperatures are regularly falling to below zero, and even up here in the warm, soft north, we have had some seriously nippy nights and startlingly beautiful cold days.

Last weekend I struggled mightily with the idea of getting out of my warm bed to go for a walk. But good-health virtue overcame stay-cozy sloth, and these photographs are the result (along with some satisfyingly large step numbers on my fitness tracker).

IMG_5481

My money trees are in flower. Does that mean greater wealth will come my way? Hope so; the washing machine just died and we had to buy a new one. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015.

Budding. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015

Budding. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015

The title of this post is a quote from Shakespeare’s As You Like It. The words are spoken by Adam, the elderly and devoted servant of the hero Orlando.

 

This post was written for Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge. This week’s theme is Macro.

 

“My age is as a lusty winter, frosty but kindly”

29 thoughts on ““My age is as a lusty winter, frosty but kindly”

  1. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Macro | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. Love this post Su. Have to admit that the covers almost always wins out for me in the morning. Not at night though. I’ll stay up late for all the above. πŸ™‚ btw what fitness tracker do you use?

    Like

    • Oh to be an evening person again! Since my son was born, I’ve become an early riser. Something about a crying baby at 5am …. I bought a Garmin Vivofit. Not what I’d planned; I walked into the shop all ready to buy a FitBit, but changed my mind at the last minute. I haven’t really started using all the features; I just like keeping track of my “mileage”. It also has a little read line that appears when I’ve been inactive for too long, and I find that brilliant!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have a FitBit. I use it to set goals, then track steps, milage, calories in, calories out, water intake, and weight. Don’t really need the water intake, but it’s sometimes useful. I can also track specific exercise, although adding custom exercise, such as singing, or hand weights, leaves me searching the internet to try and get an estimate of how many calories I might be burning per 5 min, or per hour. But every tracker has it’s drawbacks. Fitbit doesn’t buzz you to remind you to move. Although on a hospital day, that would just be annoying. I had narrowed down the trackers to 3 before I walked into REI. Garmin had made it into those top 3, so I’m interested in what your experience is. How long have you had it, would you buy a different version of it (say, the Vivosmart) if you had to do it over, or would you buy a different brand? Or buy the Vivofit all over again if your’s died and you needed a replacement?

        Like

      • Interesting; I’m not sure I’d replace it at all if it died. I bought a tracker because I’m really competitive and love data. I figured that seeing what I’d achieved (or not) one day would spur me on to do better the next day. Maybe it’s just that life is too busy at the moment, but I’m not getting as obsessed and focused as I’d hoped. Perhaps I need to put more time into it. I’ll let you know!

        Liked by 1 person

      • It could indeed be that your life is just too busy. If I were still working a 40-60 hour week, trying to keep track of something else would leave me thinking, “Why in heaven’s name am I doing this?????” But I bought a tracker in March because chronic illness had forced me to be far, far less active than I had been all my life. The result was that I had gained weight I wasn’t happy with, and my fibromyalgia had flared because I was less active. I wanted something that would give me data that would enable me to make effective changes. How did calories in (and what kind of calories) affect my energy levels? Too few left me in worse shape than too many, I discovered. How did various activities affect both my energy and pain levels? How did activities affect my chronic insomnia? (I also use a sleep cycle app.) I, also, am competitive and love data, but I had found that my competitiveness was causing trouble. I would compare myself to healthy people, overdo it, and then make myself worse. A tracker enables me to set realistic goals given my medical condition, and then I can be competitive just with myself. As I meet those goals, I get a little healthier, and then I can raise the bar a little. I started with a goal of 3,000 steps a day. That was a big deal at the time. I’m now up to a goal of 5,000 steps a day. The one drawback to my fitness tracker, and probably all fitness trackers, is that it doesn’t have interactive software to let me adjust goals on days with medical procedures. I just have to realize on my own that one those days, I can’t possibly meet my goals, and be ok with that. Wish I could find a tracker than allowed me to have moveable goals depending on procedures and pain levels! Or at least journal notes. FitBit used to have that, then took it away.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think I need to find time to figure out the full functionality of the Vivo. I just feel a bit overwhelmed by all that’s going on at the moment. Which of course, is the time when I most need to take care of my health. Sigh. The difference between knowing and doing!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Raewyn. It’s much warmer here today now that the rain has arrived, but I did spend a couple of days wishing we hadn’t had to take out the wood-burner when we renovated. Hope it’s a bit warmer down your way today.

      Like

    • Funny you should say that. The day before I bought it, I read an article which talked about the tyranny of the tracker. It nearly put me off, and in the end buying one was partly a test of my capacity to resist addiction. So far, so good. Although I think my addiction to indolence might just be stronger. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Lovely photos Su. I love my vivofit, especially the little red bar that reminds to move. I don’t think I’d like one that beeps, I wouldn’t hear it anyhow. I chose the vivofit because it only tries connecting to the internet when you tell it to, and no recharging – plus I got a great special at Dick Smiths. I use MyFitnessPal to track my calories in and out, and it synchronises with Garmin and counts any activities I do wearing the heart rate chest band, which is only walking. I’ve actually checked in 60 days straight today. πŸ™‚ I’m hopeless with my new phone on macro, just can’t ge tthe focus right. I better go see if I can produce something for Sally’s challenge. At least we have sun today, that will help. We’ve had the coldest spell for 20 years, apparently.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Christine. Yes, there is lots to like about the VivoFit. I really MUST spend some time and come to terms with the functionality. I heard that parts of NZ have had the coldest temperatures in half a century. It’s certainly been cold (relatively) here. We soft Aucklanders are just not used to it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • It isn’t hard to learn for the basic vivofit, Su. You can set your own step count goal on the Garmin website, or let them automatically adjust it to your activity level. It took ages before they gave me a 10,000 step goal, I worked my way up to it. Lots of motivational graphs. I like the sleep graph, I move a lot and get very little deep sleep.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

