Inspiration

The boy-child aged 8; punting on the Cam. Cambridge, England. Photo: Su Leslie, 2006

The boy-child aged 8; punting on the Cam. Cambridge, England. Photo: Su Leslie, 2006

I have to admit it; I’ve struggled with this week’s Daily Post Photo Challenge. How can I show what inspiration means to me when I am feeling so uninspired.

I don’t know if it’s the gloomy weather or the sense that my life is in limbo while we get ready to sell our house. Maybe it’s just the lack of challenging projects at the moment. Whatever the reason, nothing much seems to have got me out of my chair recently.

So the challenge was to work out what, in the big scheme of things, does motivate me and lift my spirits?

The answer basically is travel — and my kid.

Like most parents, I try to do the best I can for my child, and to be a positive role-model. A chronic avoid-er of conflict, I know that over the years I’ve gone into bat for him over issues that I’d probably have tried to ignore (and silently eaten myself up over) if they were just for me. I’ve not taken the path of least resistance because I want him to grow up knowing that you don’t have to blindly accept everything that happens to you — that you can shape your own destiny.

I’m inspired by his very existence to be the best person I can.

And then there’s travel. Even the smallest opportunity to be somewhere new, to see new sights, eat new foods … I’m in. Maybe that’s part of my current malaise; I have been at home too much lately.

So my contribution to the challenge isn’t the best photo I’ve ever taken, but it’s the shot that reminds me of the things I love (and actually I’m pretty fond of Cambridge too), and that get me out of bed in the morning.

You can see more bloggers’ Inspirations at the Daily Post.

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. Kids are inspiring! They keep us young and help us see different perspectives. Selling homes and moving are very stressful, but a year from now it will be a distant memory. Good luck on your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks 🙂 We used to move house fairly frequently, but have been in our current home for 15 years! It is an adventure, but you’re right, it will be a stressful one. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

  2. Ahw I struggled with this too.. all week I was thinking. I mean everything can be of inspiration and then my head exploded. I love the picture and the stuffed animal being a bit smudgy. One of my friends sons has a big stuffed mouse he caries everywhere. It’s falling apart but it’s such an adorable sight. That he can love something so dearly.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think our inspirational energy goes through peaks and troughs. Like you, I’ve been in a recharging mode for a while and missing a certain zippedy-do-da. Love is a mighty powerful motivator though 🙂

    This is a great photo of your son. I love that *sparkle* in his face 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

