Daily Post Photo Challenge: “… a good day ain’t got no rain”

I have probably said it before, but I am a “glass half empty” person. In truth I usually feel that my glass is three-quarters empty — but that doesn’t make much sense as a pithy observation.

I have a profound capacity to see and dwell upon anything negative in a situation, even whilst those around me experience great joy. The best I can say about this is that I’ve gradually learned to keep my mouth shut (usually), so I don’t spoil others’ pleasure.

The American musician and comic Oscar Levant said that happiness isn’t something you experience, but something you remember. While I subscribe wholeheartedly to that view, I often struggle to even remember happiness, such is my Eeyore-like nature.

So my personal challenge for this week’s Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge has been to bring together the things that make for a good day; those things that get me out of bed and willing to try on a happy face.

In choosing these images I am paying tribute to the scenes, moments, rituals, and above all people, whose presence contribute to a good day — if only I let myself see it.

The title for the post comes from Paul Simon’s Slip Slidin’ Away. I could be the woman, but am trying to choose not to be.

I know a woman
Became a wife
These are the very words she uses
To describe her life
She said a good day
Ain’t got no rain
She said a bad day’s when I lie in bed
And think of things that might have been
Slip slidin’ away
Slip slidin’ away
You know the nearer your destination
The more you’re slip slidin’ away

Paul Simon, Slip Slidin’ Away

36 thoughts on “Daily Post Photo Challenge: “… a good day ain’t got no rain”

  1. I find it hard to believe in your negative tendencies, Su. See how you’ve counted so many blessings. Are you sure that negativity is yours. I mean did you inherit it. (Rhetorcial questions). EFT is a good way to shift/ banish it though. Can recommend Brad Yates on YouTube. It’s just a form of acupressure, tapping on meridian points to overwrite hardwired negativity that’s lurking in the subconscious. Things often acquired during childhood due to misunderstanding what was going on. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for this Tish. I was vaguely aware of EFT, but have just started reading about it again and will find the Brad Yates video. I think you’re right; I have absorbed a great deal from a very negative family culture, and worry that I’m passing that on to my son. But awareness is the starting point for change, and I am learning to tell myself positive stories, rather than allow the negative, old ones to dominate. Thanks again. Cheers, Su.

      Liked by 1 person

    • It’s all part of the process of learning to see and enjoy all the good in my life, and let go of the “might have been’s”. Thanks Janet, it’s lovely to have your kindness and support.

      Like

  2. It’s interesting you picked that particular selection of music. Those words often express my feelings too when I’m bogged down in negativity.
    I really enjoyed your selection of photos and in particular the caption of serving happiness on a plate.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Today Was a Good Day - Sylvain LANDRY

  4. Wonderful. The Big T lookin good, there – and the little one. [grin]
    Some absolutely fabulous shots, Su ! – what a gallery …
    Love the multi-generational one.
    Adore Paul Simon, even if I can scarcely believe that he’s now a weird old man, and GRUMPY.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ that photo of the five generations (my gran is the young woman) is what got me interested in family history in the first place. I didn’t know who the older women were, and the process of finding out has been such a journey, connecting me not only with my past but with a bunch of living cousins and (strangest of all) an American in Guam who is a very, very distant relation by marriage. Cool, huh! Agree about Paul Simon πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I had a mental breakdown November last year after I had slipped into a severe depression. I think it’s very hard to explain what it’s like. Being constantly underwater. Though I worked in my father’s practice for 15 years I never really took it serious.. just a first world fad.. until it hit me.

    Much better now but it’s like this pet that lingers around and in a strange way is so comforting. I don’t know what helps but art and looking for beauty does make that pet less demanding.

    Off topic: The first thing when I looked at your post i though ‘gosh she’s beautiful!’!!

    You are!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you; especially for sharing your own pain. I’ve suffered depression most of my adult life, and looking back, feel fortunate that I’ve got to where I am without hospitalisation or medication. I know what you mean about it being almost comforting; it’s a part of who we are and that’s difficult to let go of. I also find that after I’ve had a really bad time, I am more energised and creative, so maybe it serves some useful purpose too.

      I totally agree with you about how important art and beauty are in balancing and energising. I wish I had some words of advice or comfort, but I’m always wary of sounding glib. But know that there are people who are interested in your well-being and care for you.

      Hope you’re feeling good at the moment. πŸ™‚ xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • I am πŸ™‚ though at times that pet wants to play πŸ˜‰ I think more than for us any partner that has to witness the ups and downs it’s not easy either. Standing by the sideline not being able to say or do anything. I’m not muslim or religious is any sense but sometimes I have to think of the phrase ” that the greatest jihad is the one from within.” In a way that is the greatest struggle. To conquer or make peace with your own demons.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m glad things are ok at the moment. I think you are right, though I hadn’t heard the phrase. We are our own most dangerous enemies. After all, who else could find all those chinks in our armour?

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I second everything Tish said. Your blog is full of positives. I would think that you’re one of those three quarters full people. I suppose one never sees the good things, the good deeds, the positive effects one has on others.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. To struggle to remember happiness……..that’s an angle I haven’t thought of before. I have to ask myself if I remember happiness. Moments of it, yes; happy times in my childhood,yes; happy days in Oxford, yes……yet I am not an unhappy person. Or maybe I am, and just haven’t realised it. 😦 One of the happiest parts of my day is the first greeting from my dog. Is your fur-baby cat responsible for your first smile of the day, or your last one.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Life is like a collage dear Su and you have put all those parts so handsomely together!Each photo narrates a story,each single person or item adds its own colour to your life!Great work,I share this melancholic feeling you mentioned in your introductory commentary ~ I usually approach everything with deep sentimental disposition … Hugs for the day to you dear Su πŸ™‚ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What an interesting, reflective post sewn through with perfect imagery.You’ve brushed up against a common reality; I am hard-wired to see the negative that is about to befall me, also, if I indulge in it, I feel a sense of loss over choices made and what might have been. We all wish we didn’t but there it is.

    Happiness is work. Joy is work…everyday in every way. You can change your thinking patterns and ultimately your brain chemistry through will. It’s a long process and it’s hard work. I found it worth the effort; to be mindfully conscious of good things.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What a fantastic visual “gratitude list”! This would make for an interesting collaborative project for those of us who visit “Eyoreland”-Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and your world Su-it has prompted me to take a closer look at mine and to see where my glass sits these days-

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

