Springing back: on changing seasons and getting sick

Captured out walking between rain showers. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Snapseed.

Captured out walking between rain showers. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Snapseed.

Having remained healthy throughout a particularly cold and wet winter, it is annoying (and really uncomfortable) to finally succumb to a spring flu.

The boy-child toppled first; but with the resilience of youth was better within 24 hours. I thought I’d followed the same path, but seem to be fighting (more or less successfully) a rear-guard action against a second assault.

It is the Big T who has been hardest hit, with aches, fever, sore throat and a wretched cough. He’s remarkably immune to “man-flu”, so I know it’s bad when he stays in bed and cancels meetings. It’s on days like this I’m grateful I work from home and that my office is only across the landing from our bedroom.

So between sickness and persistent rain showers, I haven’t been out much, and this week’s photos were taken on a fairly short, but brisk, walk around the neighbourhood at the weekend. They’ve been edited a little — mainly to darken the background — and I think quite accurately reflect the quiet, slightly somber mood of our household at the moment.

photo-2

Captured out walking between rain showers. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Snapseed.

A trick of the light; this flower was on the same shrub as the others, but shot from a different angle, was captured in a different light. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Snapseed and Pixlr Express.

A trick of the light; this flower was on the same shrub as the others, but shot from a different angle, was captured in a different light. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Snapseed and Pixlr Express.

This post was written for Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge at Lens and Pens by Sally. This week’s theme is nature.

36 thoughts on “Springing back: on changing seasons and getting sick

  1. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Nature (Geranium Florets) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. Su, these are beautifully delicate. Sorry to hear that everyone’s sick. My husband’s been sick, too, so I know how that goes. Fortunately, I haven’t gotten sick. We’re supposed to go away for the weekend for our 31st anniversary, so I hope he’s feeling better by Friday!! πŸ™‚ Hope you’re all better soon as well.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Janet. Congratulations. I hope your husband is better by the weekend too; that’s a wonderful milestone to celebrate. We have theatre tickets for Saturday night; a play I’m so looking forward to. So I’m hoping the Big T will be better by then too. Fingers crossed for both of us.

      Like

  3. Dontcha hate that? Hope everyone is fighting fit again in time to enjoy this encroaching Spring with Summer hot on her heels.

    It’s happening here too. Too many coughs, sniffles and voices deeper than normal in the house and I’m getting coughed all over at school. Probably get my dose just in time for the holidays. :-/

    Like

  4. I have closely followed the course of the flu at your place,your posts have made me feel as if I were near you and that I could easily pop in just to say hi and have some chicken soup with you ~ However,I’d better stay away,it’s definitely catching…
    Your showered flowers are so beautiful and they look gorgeous against the dark backdrop!The soft bluish lighting on the third one is heavely and your narrative was gripping despite the flu,the rain and the showers!Hope you and especially The Big T gets better soon!Take care πŸ™‚ ❀ xxx

    Like

    • Thank you Doda. It would be lovely if you could pop in for soup and a chat — when we’re all recovered πŸ™‚
      I was so surprised to find the bluish tinge on that particular photo; it was taken at the same time as the others, but the different angle gave different light. I’m feeling much better today; the Big T not so much. My best wishes to you always. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for your kindness dear Su!I’m virtually with you my friend!
        Isn’t it magnificent how the light through a different angle has affected the outcome of the capture!Hope you & the Big T enjoy a wonderful,dry weekend πŸ™‚ β™‘ xβ™‘ xxx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

