Bursting with life

Cherry blossom hangs heavy on the bough. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Snapseed and Aviary Photo Editor.

Cherry blossom hangs heavy on the bough. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015. Shot with iPhone4, edited with Snapseed and Aviary Photo Editor.

I’ve managed to spend quite a lot of time in my garden in the last week, and am enjoying the almost constant change as new flowers blossom on the trees. Between the rate of new growth, and the high winds which have assaulted the trees, nothing remains the same for long.

When I read Angeline’s post Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge Nature in my Mind’s Eye (see AngelineM’s Blog) it got me thinking about what I will remember of my garden this week. So I’ve pinched Angeline’s idea (with credit and much thanks) of editing an image to invoke memory, rather than verisimilitude. While Angeline chose to give her shot a painterly feel, I have gone with a look that enhanced the dappled light and the contrast of colour between the pink blossom and the green foliage.

For me, this shot invokes the sense of being enfolded in the serenity of a garden bursting with life after a long, and pretty cold, winter.

This post was written for Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge at Lens and Pens by Sally.

 

 

 

28 thoughts on “Bursting with life

  1. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Nature (Autumn’s Seeds of Plenty) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. Thanks so much for linking to my blog, Su. Your photograph, with the light and shadows is beautiful. I, too, have been spending more time than I had in the last year outside for awhile each day, and the beauty in nature fills me with such peace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

