Trying to focus my imagination

Sweet pea. Image: Su Leslie, 2015. Edited with Snapseed and Aviary Photo Editor.

Sweet pea. Image: Su Leslie, 2015. Edited with Snapseed and Aviary Photo Editor.

The architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe‘s  dictum that “less is more” seems particularly appropriate to my current thinking about photography — and indeed life in general.

Coming out of a phase that has been too busy and too full of competing concerns, I feel the need to focus; to slow down and consider my world in a more mindful way.

I shot this image a few weeks ago, and although I didn’t actually dislike it, it seemed to lack any special quality and I would probably have deleted it, except that found myself focused on the almost sculptural folding of the fluttering, veined petals. This wasn’t particularly clear in the original shot, so I altered the colour balance to emphasize the texture and form.

Sweet pea. Image: Su Leslie, 2015. Edited with Snapseed, Aviary Photo Editor and Pixlr Express.

Sweet pea. Image: Su Leslie, 2015. Edited with Snapseed, Aviary Photo Editor and Pixlr Express.

I’ve chosen to post quite different edits. I think both bring into focus the delicacy of the petals, but evoke perhaps different emotional responses to the flower.

I’m interested to know which you prefer.

The post title comes from this Mark Twain quote:

You can’t depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus.

Mark Twain

And a year-end thanks and shout-out to Sally Donatello for hosting  Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge at Lens and Pens by Sally. The discipline of taking part in this challenge has led me to examine much more closely the way I shoot, edit and think about photos.

Thanks Sally.

17 thoughts on “Trying to focus my imagination

  1. Su, you’ve given your inner compass a forceful direction: less is more. That stripping away of the bombardment of visual stimulation and allowing oneself to see, really see, is probably the grandest reward from a photographic eye. Thoreau also said it with poignancy: “Simplify, simplify, simplify.” Each of your images has a unique quality: the first being more abstract and delicate, and the second being more detailed and vibrant. I lean to the second. I am humbled by your reference to the challenge. I am grateful to have you part of this journey. Happy Photo Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Macro (and Refractions in the Time of Uncertainty) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  3. Both absolutely gorgeous. The second photo brings out more detail, but the first photo seems to highlight the simplicity and your focus. I’m reading more about mindfulness in photography, and the focus of the mind.

    Like

  4. Captivating your title and the course of your thoughts and actions.Beautiful both images for different reasons,dear Su.The first one was quiet,airy,vulnerable to the winds and the rain and you decided to innervate it,to give it a solid shape as if you were a sculptor.You have so impressively emphasised the textures and colours … All the best to you,dear friend! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

