Portraits – No.1

Semi-profile black and white portrait, teenage boy. Image: Su Leslie, 2015

The boy-child, December 2015. Image: Su Leslie, 2015

Before Christmas I managed to persuade the boy-child to let me take photos of him to send to his much-loved grandmother (pretty sure he only agreed BECAUSE they were for Grandma).

While my photographic confidence has grown considerably in the last year, taking pictures ofΒ  people is still way outside my comfort zone. I don’t feel happy pointing a camera at people generally, and actually asking someone to submit to an actual portrait session –aagh! What if the photos are rubbish?

Well, I’m pretty happy with these shots of my son; and I really, really want to be able to work on a photo project that has been fermenting in my mind for a few years which is portrait-based.

So here goes. You’ll notice the optimistic “No. 1” in the title above. With luck (and quite a bit of internalized pep-talking), over the coming year there will be a No. 2 (and 3, 4, etc).

Colour head and shoulders portrait, teenage boy. Su Leslie, 2015

The boy-child, December 2015. Image: Su Leslie, 2015

Black and white head and shoulders portrait, teenage boy laughing. Image: Su Leslie, 2015

The boy-child, December 2015. Image: Su Leslie, 2015

Colour head and shoulders portrait, teenage boy. Su Leslie, 2015

The boy-child, December 2015. Image: Su Leslie, 2015

 

Black and white, head and shoulders portrait, teenage boy holding tea cup. Image: Su Leslie, 2015

The boy-child, December 2015. Image: Su Leslie, 2015

 

 

41 thoughts on “Portraits – No.1

  1. Very nice set of portraits. I love the humour of the cup covering all but the eyes. The glancing away shot works well as a candid. Those are my favourites – I’m sure you have your own πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! He he. Revel in my beginners luck! Then do the hard thing and ask people I’m less comfortable around (and to whom I can’t apply emotional blackmail) if I can try my hand at photographing them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think you did really well with your portraits of your son. Window light is truly amazing to work with I love it. An idea for you next time is to face him towards the window and you put your back to the window but do not block the light from him you will get a shot of even window light and I think you might like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Portraits #2 | Zimmerbitch

Leave a Reply

