Close-up shot; water droplets on new grape leaf. Su Leslie, 2016

Water droplets on new grape leaf. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

I was awake early yesterday; early enough to find my coastal suburb shrouded in an unseasonal mist. I thought of going for a walk. I really did. But the lure of a coffee and some time in my garden was too strong.

Around the garden, tiny pearls of water clung to leaves and flowers; everything seemed green and fresh and wonderful.

Between photographing these little gems, I picked the ripe tomatoes and plums, pulled some weeds and marvelled at the progress of fruit buds on the orange and feijoa trees and on our grape vine — none of which has ever borne fruit until this season.

Close-up, budding fruit on feijoa tree. Su Leslie, 2016

Tiny feijoa fruit. The first since the tree was planted 12 years ago. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

Extreme close-up shot; water droplets on edge of grape leaf. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

Water droplets on new grape leaf. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

Close-up shot; water droplets on edge of grape leaf. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

Water droplets on edge of grape leaf. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

Close-up shot; water on leaves of serrano chilli plant. Su Leslie, 2016

Water on serrano chilli leaves. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

For these moments of contemplation; of pleasure in watching the seeds I have planted grow — I am a morning person.

 

For this, I will be a morning person

28 thoughts on “For this, I will be a morning person

    • Hi Janet. I’ve become more of a morning person as I get older. Usually though, I am so busy getting on with the things I have to do, I don’t spend time contemplating the beauty around me. For that, mornings are hard to beat. Cheers, Su

      Like

      • I hadn’t thought of that. My other half is definitely a night owl. Both my parents have always been early risers, though I suspect it’s just the habit of a lifetime. My dad always started work early and often had to travel quite a big distance to his job. And my mother had to get three kids organised!

        Like

Leave a Reply

