“Joy like great art should take you to the skies”

IMG_8445

Mt Ruapehu, North Island, New Zealand. Image: Su Leslie, 2014

The mountains and the sea. I’m neither climber nor great swimmer, but give me proximity to New Zealand’s snow-crusted volcanic cones, or to a stretch of its coastline, and light begins to filter through chinks in even the darkest despair.

IMG_8444

Te Arai, North Island, New Zealand. Image: Su Leslie, 2014

This post was written for the Daily Post Photo Challenge. This week the theme is state of mind. The title comes from Stepping Down the Glory Road, by Scottish band Runrig.

13 thoughts on ““Joy like great art should take you to the skies”

    • Thanks Raewyn. I seem to have a talent for visiting National Park and New Plymouth when the sun is shining. My track record is pretty good with Wellington weather too.

      Like

  1. We so want to get to NZ one day, Su, and your photos just remind me why. Although the mountains are my drug of choice (as I mentioned in my post a few days ago), the ocean or other body of water, or forest will work as well. I just need that time away.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

