Close-up shot of pink-mottled hydrangea flower, with dead petals amongst the fresh. Su Leslie, 2016

Beginning to turn; hydrangea petals. Image: Su Leslie, 2016. Edited with Snapseed and Stackables.

After a long and terribly hot, humid summer, the first — welcome — traces of autumn are beginning to appear.

A slight chill in the morning air; the odd leaf beginning to turn. As always I welcome this. Autumn is my favourite time of year.

Friends, for whom summer’s humidity is more bearable, see these signs of change with less favour. Autumn takes on a darker cast.

IMG_8559

Fading fast; hydrangea petals. Image: Su Leslie, 2016. Edited with Snapseed and Stackables.

Perhaps even a slightly melancholy one.

Close-up shot of pink-mottled hydrangea flower, with dead petals amongst the fresh. Su Leslie, 2016

Approaching winter; hydrangea petals. Image: Su Leslie, 2016. Edited with Snapseed and Stackables.

Me, I’m with George Eliot.

Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns. — George Eliot

This post was written for Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge at Lens and Pens by Sally.

 

Curling wisps of autumn

26 thoughts on “Curling wisps of autumn

  1. I love how we are at mirror images of the seasons. Here the ground is warming and soon we will see some budding and some daffodils. We won’t see the hydrangeas bloom until June,

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Autumn is a gem of a season. Your transformation of the hydrangea is a metaphor for the way the landscape is altered over time. Glad that you have relief from the intense summer heat. I’ve never seen that variety of hydrangea, which is one of my favorite summer flowers. It always brings cheer. Happy Photo Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Nature (as Fortune Teller) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  4. As you anticipate the arrival of autumn, we are anticipating the arrival of spring. The fading blossoms of the hydrangea are a clear sign of the changing season. I’m still waiting for the first green shoots to poke out of the ground.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Great way of showing emotions. Me, I am with you. It has been such a long, hot summer and unbearable nights. The hot days started way back in November so it has been very, very long for us. Roll on the cooler days and strong autumn colours.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You’re so lucky. March arrived here and brought a heatwave with it. Temps have been around or in the 30s for the past three weeks with at least one day in the 40s each week. Always on a Tuesday. (I’m not kidding!) But we did get some rain the other day which was a welcome change. I’m with you and very much looking forward to Autumn when it decides to eventually arrive.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Now, here is a funny coincidence. You just beautifully portrayed what is also my favourite time of year! For me too not only does autumn offer that lovely break of fresh coolness to a hot humid summer but I love the cozy feeling that it conquers up in my mind. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lovely photos. That quote is so fabulous! One of my friends had it hanging from her wreath this fall and it was the first time I had read it. All autumn long when I knocked on her door I hoped she would be slow to answer so I could savor the imagery for just a bit longer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment