Six Word Saturday: please Jamie, don’t let me down

Close-up shot of chopped carrot, celery, onion, garlic, sage and thyme. Basis for slow-roasted pork-belly. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

Getting the veges ready for slow-cooked roast pork belly. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

Though I’m not much of a meat eater, my boys are, and I quite like cooking meat. Tonight was my first attempt at slow-roasted pork belly. The recipe was from Jamie Oliver, and I mainly followed it — apart from using cider instead of white wine and crisping the skin for 20 minutes rather than 10 (and I turned up the heat again at the end of the cooking time to get the crackling even crispier).

Pork belly, with skin scored and rubbed with olive oil and salt. Ready to be roasted. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

Skin dried, rubbed with olive oil and salt. Pork belly ready to be roasted. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

I should have taken a photo of the roast when it came out of the oven, but the Big T had already got ready to carve.

Slow-roasted pork belly; only the bones left. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

Down to the bones. Slow-roasted pork belly. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

Consensus: I’m allowed to cook this again.

11 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday: please Jamie, don’t let me down

    • Hi Janet. I didn’t think the Big T would like it quite as much as he did. He’s a beef and lamb kind of guy. It’s the boy-child who loves pork. But both proclaimed it good. I tried a little bit; I liked the texture but it’s still meat and I don’t think I’ll ever be much of a fan.

      Like

Leave a Reply

