“All the things we can’t undo”

Full moon in evening sky over motorway. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

“No boy, don’t speak now you just drive.” Image: Su Leslie, 2016

Like the half-light that exists between night and day, there is a time in relationships when love is neither thriving nor quite gone.

Drive  — the title track of singer Bic Runga‘s first album captures the feeling of longing to hold on to what is good, even as darkness closes in.

I know it’s late
Now I know I ought to go
Ride in your car now
But please don’t drop me home
My head so heavy
Could this be all a dream
Promise me maybes
And say things you don’t mean
Let rain fall from concrete-coloured skies
No boy, don’t speak
Now you just drive
Drive
Drive
Take me through
Make me feel alive
Alive
When I ride with you
Keep my heart turning
On axles around you
Keep our love burning
Just like it used to do
Now just for us
They could play our favourite tune
Let’s not discuss all these things we can’t undo
Let rain fall from concrete-colored skies
No boy, don’t speak now
You just drive
Drive
Drive
Speed me through
Make me feel alive
Alive
When I ride with you
Let rain fall from concrete-colored skies
No boy, don’t speak now
You just drive

Drive is also one of the songs used in the play Daffodils by Rochelle Bright. Daffodils is a love story told as much through its use of Kiwi music as theatre.

Here is a clip of Drive, from Daffodils with Colleen Davis performing.

And here is Bic Runga performing the song.

This post was written for the Daily Post Photo Challenge. The theme this week is half-light.

 

 

One thought on ““All the things we can’t undo”

  1. Pingback: Half-Light (On the sunny side of the street) | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

