Friday flip through the archives

"The ones who made you, the ones who brought you here ..." (Six60, 'Don't Forget Your Roots'). Image: my dad and little brother, my beloved Uncle Tom and me, Carshalton, UK 1967. Leslie family archive.

“The ones who made you, the ones who brought you here …” (SIX60, ‘Don’t Forget Your Roots’). Image: my dad and little brother, my beloved Uncle Tom and me, Carshalton, UK 1967. Leslie family archive.

NZMM2016_jpgAs part of my focus on NZ Music Month, I’ve discovered some new songs and artists, and been introduced to others by the boy-child.

I particularly liked this song by Dunedin band Six60.  As a family historian, I probably interpret the lyrics slightly differently to how writers Matiu Walters and James Fraser intended, but the key message is the same nonetheless.

As my son increasingly spreads his wings and flies with people outside our family circle, the importance of holding onto the thread of belonging seems more important to me than ever.

 

20 thoughts on “Friday flip through the archives

  1. A wee visit just to say hi and to tell you that I have missed you and your wonderful posts.Travelling and our long Easter holidays kept me away from WP for a long time and I suffer from the catching up syndrome again lol …

    What a beautiful b/w photo with a nice vintage feeling,dear Su!Affecting the message : “The ones who made you, the ones who brought you here …~ ‘Don’t Forget Your Roots’.Thank you my friend.I hope you and yours are keeping well.My best wishes for a splendid weekend 🙂 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Welcome home Doda. I hope you had a wonderful time away. It is great to have you back. It is beginning to feel like winter here; time to hibernate with my books and thoughts. Happy weekend to you too my friend. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • So many thanks Su dear!It was all wonderful.It’s almost summer here although we had some rain today.I know how you feel now,I love winter time,it makes us more productive 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • We’re entering our fifth day of rain here, and the boy-child is grumbling because he had a long weekend and wanted to go skating. I think we had such a long dry summer it has made him forget that Auckland really is quite a wet city. All the best to you my friend. xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know how disappointed the boy-child feels,but rains following a long dry summer are a real blessing right now.Enjoy a nice and peaceful weekend,dear friend 🙂 xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • 🙂 He made the best of it; going out with friends to take photos. And I am grateful for the rain, especially as the temperatures are quite high for this time of year. It means the garden is still thriving. All the best to you Doda. xx

        Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah; I heard that. Apparently someone disabled the smoke alarms! My son is friends with the guys who were the support act at the Six60 gig where the balcony collapsed — bit of jinx area!

      Like

  2. What a great idea to have a “Friday Flip through the Archives”! The photo is enchanting! And I just love the song!

    My older daughter turns 19 this year – she is now beginning to spread her wings of independence, for which I am grateful, but like you, I also realise the sense of family & belonging is ever more critical.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I’ve been thinking a bit about old photos and even old posts and wanting a forum for them.

      It’s lovely when our kids show signs of independence and capability in “the big wide world”. I guess that means we’ve done our job well. Cheers, Su

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

