“… how do you find where you belong?”

Black and white shot of trees reflected in lake at Tokaanu Boat Ramp, Turangi. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

Lake Taupo, at Tokaanu boat ramp. Image: Su Leslie, 2016. Edited with Snapseed.

Home from a visit to my dad (and do to a glass-making workshop), I’m working through my photos. I shot these images while walking by Lake Taupo at Tokaanu. The weather was overcast; the threat of rain always present.

Black and white image of rushes reflected in Lake Taupo at Tokaanu. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

Lake Taupo at Tokaanu. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

But what I remember best is not the lowering clouds, but the sense of absolute stillness. With no-one else around, the only sounds I heard were bird-calls and the lap of water.

It’s rare that I find myself in a place of such quiet and calm, and I’ve edited the shots to help me remember and hold on to the feeling of absolute belonging in that space and time.

Black and white shot. Piers from old jetty, Lake Taupo at Tokaanu boat ramp. Image: Su Leslie, 2016. Edited with Snapseed.

Piers from old jetty, Lake Taupo at Tokaanu boat ramp. Image: Su Leslie, 2016. Edited with Snapseed.

The title of this post comes from the wonderful Eva Prowse song ‘Lie in the Land’.  On the road I listened again and again to a recording of her performing this with the band Fly My Pretties.

Written for Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge, at Lens and Pens by Sally.

 

51 thoughts on ““… how do you find where you belong?”

  1. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Black and White (Photomontage) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. I love your description, Su -” the sense of absolute stillness. With no-one else around, the only sounds I heard were bird-calls and the lap of water.” So fitting with the photos.
    Leslie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Truly amazing shots, Su! They represent your feelings perfectly! Especially the first one reminds me very much of early french photography from around 1860-1880 😉 Wish you a wonderful weekend and can´t wait to hear about your glasswork shop results! xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sarah. I don’t often edit shots to bleach them out like that, and I was really pleased with the results. I’m hoping my glass pieces are on their way to Auckland now and that I can collect them this weekend. Happy weekend to you xxxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • It´s amazing what editing can do sometimes! I think I´ll have to get me an editing software too! Which one do you use? Snapseed?
        Woo-Hoo! That will be exciting when you can take your glass pieces with you! Still longing to see them!! Have a magnificent weekend, dear Su! xxxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have PhotoShop and Lightroom on my computer, but haven’t really taken the time to learn them properly. I mainly use Snapseed on my iPad, and Stackables a bit too for really heavily edited shots. xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, Su! I think it´s time to get better aquainted with photo editing, as this hobby of mine seems to consume more time and energy than I ever thought possible 🙂 It seems you can get addicted to taking photographs! I seldom leave the house with out my camera now! But who am I telling that? 😉 Have a great day! xxxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Su! Sorry for not getting back earlier! Sadly my eye is not really healing well, the wound broke open twice this week again and I´m feeling a bit blue… not being able to read my friends´blogs doesn´t help also 😉 Miss you! Have a great weekend! xxxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much for your lovely words, dear Su! 🙂
        Just listening to the song – and it´s just sooooooooooo aaaaaawesome!!! THank you so much for poviding me yet again with wonderful music – you´re the best! 🙂 The song just makes goosebumps spread all over my arms, it´s so wonderful! I´m going to listen to more of this fantastic group! 😀 xxxxxxxxxxxxxx ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m glad you like it Sarah. I know what you mean about goosebumps! I love that everyone in Fly My Pretties has a solo career, and they bring all these different elements and talents to the band. Hope you had a good weekend my dear friend. xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh forgot to say. Just talked to glass tutor and I’ll be collecting my work later today. Ridiculously excited!!!! Hope you are having a great weekend and that your eye is he!ing well. Hugs xxxx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: 2016: a personal retrospective | Zimmerbitch

Leave a Reply

