It’s not this time of year without … portraits of my son

The boy-child. Monochrome portrait of a young man with mirror reflection. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

The boy-child. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

When he was little, the boy-child loved the camera and it loved him right back.

As he’s got older, the relationship’s changed in one fundamental respect. These days, he feels he belongs behind the lens rather than in front. So it takes something quite special — like his grandmother’s desire to have a “nice picture” for Christmas — to persuade him to be photographed.

And with no disrespect to my son’s very real talent as a photographer, I think the camera still loves him.

The boy-child, take 3. Image: Su Leslie, 2016. Portrait of a young man, with reflection in the mirror.

The boy-child, take 2. Image: Su Leslie, 2016.

The by-child, take 2. Image: Su Leslie, 2016. Portrait of a young man, with reflection in the mirror.

The boy-child, take 3. Image: Su Leslie, 2016

This post was written for the Daily Post Photo Challenge. This week we’re asked to show something without which the holiday season would be incomplete.

30 thoughts on “It’s not this time of year without … portraits of my son

  1. Wonderful portraits, and his grandmother will be so pleased and proud! It really is amazing how some people have that special bond with the camera, especially in front of the lense… Have a very lovely day, dear Su, and I hope your kneeΒ΄s a bit better now! xxxxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sarah. My knee is feeling better and I hope I can sustain that. I’m going away for the weekend and will try to do some walking. I’ve packed the anti-inflammatory tablets and an ice pack — just in case πŸ™‚ xxxxxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • ItΒ΄s always good to be prepared πŸ˜‰ I had also some difficult times with my knee a couple of years ago, and never left for holidays without bandages and stuff πŸ˜‰ Most of the time it worked like an umbrella: taking it with me prevented my knee from having stupid ideas πŸ˜‰ xxxxxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yess! I love the umbrella principle (less when I have to travel light, but great for road-trips). My knee has taken a bit of a hammering from too much walking, but there was so much to see! And on the plus side, our hotel had a heated swimming pool and I did spend a lot of time in it. xxxxxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ahhh, a heated swimming pool – that sounds so lovely I get goosebumps! πŸ˜‰ Poor knee though, I hope itΒ΄s a bit better now after the walking is done? I know how it is: sometimes you really have to go on, no matter how much it hurts, itΒ΄s just too damn beautiful out there, and you would so much regret it if you didnΒ΄t… Please take good care, Su! xxxxxxxxxx ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      • πŸ™‚ I’m making scatter cushions for the beds and sofas in our house. It’s all part of trying to make the place look appealing to potential buyers. Most of our Christmas gifts to each other are donations to charities this year. We all decided we have too much, and there are so many organisations trying to help those in need who really struggle at this time of year. xxxx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 2016: a personal retrospective | Zimmerbitch

Leave a Reply

