A bit heavy on the metaphor?

Photomontage of seascape and venetian blinds. Images and montage: Su Leslie, 2017. Edited with Snapseed and Fused.

Photomontage Su Leslie, 2017. Edited with Snapseed and Fused.

No, I’m not the neighbour who peers out at the street through venetian blinds — not literally anyway.

But I’ve been thinking about my engagement with the natural world and how it’s changed over the years.

There was a time when “nature” was something I drove through on the way to “somewhere”. Nowadays, “somewhere” is more likely to be my garden or a beach than a restaurant or a mall. Even the Big T, who knows me better than anyone else, seems surprised at my willingness not just to roll up the metaphorical blinds, but take out the whole window.

Written for Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge at Lens and Pens by Sally.

14 thoughts on “A bit heavy on the metaphor?

  1. That’s a crazy image and I love it!! I have always been more interested in the natural world rather than the material one and having a garden of my own again after many years without makes it difficult to leave home even for the beach!! And I never thought I would say that!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I know this isn’t even the point of your post, but… I have an across the street neighbor who regularly yells to me from her upstairs window when I come and go, work in the yard, or deal with the trash. It startles me every time. It’s a bit like living in a fishbowl. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope you mean “yell” in a shout out, hello kind of way and not a crazy lady being loud and grumpy kind of way. I would hate to have that happen to me. I have close-by neighbours but thankfully they are very discreet. Except for the fact that one of them takes naked soaks in his back-yard hot tub — which is visible from my bedroom window. George Cloooney he aint!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Yes, “yell” in a shout out kind of way. It’s still plenty startling though when you thought no one was around but you and flowers. Naked soaks out back… I think I prefer being startled by a yeller. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Haha! Why is it always the wrong guys that tend to do the being naked bit?! I had the same neighbor too, I swear! πŸ˜‰
        Wonderful picture, Su! YouΒ΄re my editing queen! πŸ™‚ xxxxx

        Like

  3. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Challenger’s Choice (Portrait of Another Orchid Photomontage) | Lens and Pens by Sally

Leave a Reply

