DP Photo Challenge: Surprise, take 2

Close-up shot of praying mantis on photographer's arm. Image: Su Leslie, 2017

The surprise is that the photo was in focus, given how I was holding the camera while coping with a praying mantis climbing my arm. Image: Su Leslie, 2017

After witnessing a praying mantis snacking on the last (yes last) Monarch caterpillar the other day, I’ve taken to patrolling the milkweed plants and surrounds to protect the remaining chrysalis and new butterflies from these cute, but lethal beasties.

Daily Post Photo Challenge | Surprise

28 thoughts on “DP Photo Challenge: Surprise, take 2

  1. I remember being told as a child that it was illegal to kill a praying mantis because they were such helpful insects. I just looked it up and found out that it’s not true, but a longstanding myth! Don’t kill it anyway!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Surprise: Green 2 | What's (in) the picture?

    • I got it off my arm just after I took the photo πŸ™‚ I moved it to the vegetable garden in the hope it would eat the slugs or something. If I was a school kid I’m sure I’d get some sort of badge or sticker for all this πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Once a scout, always a scout! πŸ˜‰ You definitely earned that badge! πŸ™‚
        Do they eat slugs? That would be perfect! Normally I kind of like slugs but not if they are happily eating away at my plants! Then I take them up and let them flyyyyy into the next big bush! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      • πŸ™‚ Now that the butterflies are all hatched I’ll have to spend my time patrolling the vegetable garden more carefully to get rid of the slugs and snails. Apparently praying mantis will eat just about anything, so if I wanted to use them as pest control, I’d have to be careful they didn’t eat the “good” bugs as well. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

