Regular Random: five minutes with a magnolia branch

Close up shot of half-open white magnolia flower against out of focus background. Image: Su Leslie, 2017

Magnolia flower. Image: Su Leslie, 2017

The magnolia tree in our garden has been slow to flower this year. For what seems like forever, tender buds have sat proudly upright, refusing to spread their velvety white petals.

Last week, a few flowers broke ranks, and by this morning it seems that many of the others have relented.

Given the brief moment of flowering, magnolias seem a perfect subject for this week’s #regularrandom.

Five Minutes of Random (the RegularRandom challenge), is hosted by Desley Jane atย Musings of a Frequently Flying Scientist.ย 

 

21 thoughts on “Regular Random: five minutes with a magnolia branch

  1. The magnolia usually are one of the first blooms of spring here. Your seasons must be quite mild to have it start now. They don’t last more than a few days here. Do they last any longer there? There are so lovely.
    Leslie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sarah. I am so enjoying these few days of magnolia blossom. I fear it will only be a few days because it is so windy and wet ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So I must make the most of it (lots of magnolia WP posts I fear).

      Liked by 1 person

      • Itยดs really a pity that they blossom only for so short a time… but then it makes us appreciate them even more I guess ๐Ÿ˜‰
        No worries, Iยดll look forward to every single one of your magnolia posts! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s true. I’ve been really looking forward to the flowering this year. The tree is just outside the Big T’s office, and I’ve been monitoring “progress” of the buds every time I go up there. xxxx ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • No. We can’t even grow dogwood or hydrangea (even though I have tried!). My bulb flowers aren’t even very hardy. I usually only get two good years out of them before they start to thin and I dig them up and start again. Although I do have one variety of tulips that have lasted about 8 years. I spent the first 32 years of my life in far more temperate climates so this dusty, cold, high desert life is an adjustment for sure. But vinca grows really well here and I love them.

        Like

Leave a Reply

