DP Photo Challenge: when is a bridge not a bridge?

Aged colour photo of sculpture called "The Mermaid" by Marijke de Goey. Consisting of a series of steel frame cubes forming a bridge over a small stream, the work is sited at Gibbs Farm Sculpture Park, Kaipara, NZ. Image: Su Leslie, 2015

Marijke de Goey, “The Mermaid” (1999). Sculpture located at Gibbs Farm Sculpture Park, Kaipara, NZ. Image: Su Leslie, 2015

…. when it’s a sculpture.

“My jewellery is sculpture for the body,
my sculptures are jewellery for the landscape.”Marijke de Goey.

For me, art can bridge the gap between the mundane and the profound; the taken-for-granted “real” world and the dreams and imaginings of our souls.

Daily Post Photo Challenge | bridge

50 thoughts on “DP Photo Challenge: when is a bridge not a bridge?

    • I love the idea of a climbing frame over water, though I’m guessing a lot of parents of smallish kids wouldn’t. And I love her quote too; I’ve been thinking about it a lot in terms of my jewellery and wondering if I need to revisit what I own/wear with a different mindset.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Bridge View | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a comment