41 thoughts on “Anzac biscuits and little carrot cakes

  1. After Halloween I always cut up the pumpkin to make pies and other desserts. I have a recipe that actually tastes a lot like carrot cake and it’s a great way to use up the pumpkin. Your photos look yummy Su.
    Leslie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. And I also love the last “photo.” We sell quite good carrot cake at the shop where I work part time, but it’s SO rich, being not only covered with cream cheese frosting, but have frosting between the layers. Too much for me, but I’m not much of a frosting (or cake) person anyway. Now if dark chocolate is on offer…

    Have a great weekend.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Janet. I know what you mean about carrot cake being very rich. I halved the quantity of sugar in the recipe, as the carrots and raisins have so much natural sweetness. The frosting IS sweet though but I haven’t figured out a way round that. ๐Ÿ™‚
      With you on the chocolate — the darker the better.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Biscuits: Australian and New Zealand Army Corps = ANZAC
    I saw oats biscuits….. checked them out and they ARE… ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Used to make them for the kids; delicious, not too sweet, crunchy! And since my sis makes the worldโ€˜s best carrot cakes, I wouldnโ€™t dare making any statement… and I am not a sweets girl, my advice doesnโ€˜t count anyway. Lovely pics, so v. Beautiful.

    Like

  4. I love carrot cake – I’ll have 3 of these little ones btw please ๐Ÿ˜‰ – but never heard of Anzac biscuits before, what are they made of? It looks like oats – which I totally love. ๐Ÿ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    • ๐Ÿ˜€ the cakes turned out so well. They are super-moist and have kept really well. Anzac biscuits are a kind of cultural icon in NZ and Australia. They are named after the joint military forceโ€” Australia New Zealand Army Corps โ€” that fought in WWI. The biscuits were apparently sent to the troops by mothers, wives. etc. and survived the long trips to Europe because they keep really well. They are made of oats, flour, coconut, butter, golden syrup and water – no eggs. They are super easy to make and really yummy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for telling me about the history about the Anzac biscuits, Su. They sound incredibly yummy and I can imagine how much joy, and how many tears as well, they must have brought those poor boys and men fighting in a war they should never had been made fighting for. I fail to come up with something similar from around here, it seems Germans have either buried these kind of memories or I might never have been told them. Although I’m sure mothers and wives have sent their men similar things.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment