DP photo challenge: early bird

Prisoner of the dawn. Sun rise at Hobsonville Point, Auckland. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015

Prisoner of the dawn? Sun rise at Hobsonville Point, Auckland. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015

I became a morning person somewhat unwillingly with the birth of my child. In those first days of 5am feeds and fretful napping I could not imagine there ever being a time when I could celebrate the sun rising, much less go out of my way to see it. But months and years passed; early morning crying was replaced by small hands on my face, patting me awake to request a story. Then came years of morning sports’ practices and rushing for early school buses, until finally the day arrived when 7am felt like a lie-in. Now of course, the boy-child can (and does on occasion) sleep until noon, while I stand on a motorway overbridge at 6am photographing the first blushes of colour to greet early-morning commuters.

photo 1-2

Before dawn, and commuters are already moving around Auckland. Photo taken from Sinden Road motorway overbridge, Hobsonville. Su Leslie, 2015.

As the closest, east-facing bit of the harbour to my home, Hobsonville Point has become my go-to place for spectacular sunrises.

This morning, I arrived just before the sun came up and a low mist still shrouded the harbour.ย From the yacht club I could see south down the Waitemata towards Birkenhead; where sea and sky were indistinguishable and softly grey.

photo 2-1

Gull in flight; Hobsonville Point, Auckland. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015.

Although I could hear commuter traffic, it seemed muffled by the mist, and provided a bassline for the melody of lapping waves and the splash of a lone kayaker’s paddle.

Lone kayak on the harbour, Hobsonville Point, Auckland. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015

Lone kayak on the harbour, Hobsonville Point, Auckland. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015

Rising sun, Hobsonville Point, Auckland. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015.

Rising sun, Hobsonville Point, Auckland. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015.

photo 2

Rising sun, Hobsonville Point, Auckland. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015.

Today is a weekday, and there is a commuter ferry from Hobsonville Point to the city, but this morning there was no-one else around and the sun came up for an audience of one.

This post was written for the Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge.

 

 

23 thoughts on “DP photo challenge: early bird

  1. Beautiful photos. I especially like the capture of the bird. I am not a morning person….but I love the peacefulness of mornings. I mean to say….I hate waking up early, I love to sleep. But, when I am required to be awake early….I really do enjoy the solitude and peace.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I get that. Back in the day when early mornings weren’t part of my normal personal landscape, the odd time when I did get up early felt really special and I enjoyed them more for it. These days, I only get that feeling when I have to drive to the airport to pick my partner up from a flight that arrives at 5.30 am. That means I’m on the road by about 4.45, and depending on the time of year, it can be really amazing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

